1/365

Today I start my journey with my very first 365. It is part of my new years resolution to learn more about my camera, photography, and document our daily life. So what better way to start the year off than to go to Naritasan Temple and participate in the Japanese tradition of Hatsumode, which refers to the first shrine or Buddhist temple visit of the year. I had read that you can purchase a fortune for 100 Yen (about a $1.00) so that is what I wanted to seek out. We found the box with the english omikuji, which is a written oracle of personalized “predictions” for the year. We let Jackson pick out a fortune and his was not so good. We didn’t know until we got home that if you don’t like the fortune that you have received you are suppose to tie it to a tree or fence. We thought you were suppose to tie all fortunes on the fence and I really wanted to keep ours for a keepsake. 🙂

Here is a picture of the fence and of Jackson folding up his fortune. I am always focused on their faces so here is a little detail shot to help me remember how small his hands are and the fact that we are in a battle with him about nail biting. I love these small hands!

IMG_7912

IMG_7900

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 1/365

  1. Aunt Claire says:

    Kathleen,
    Good luck with the 365 project. I have really enjoyed following Courtney’s family this past year in photographs, now I look forward to following you. This will be an interesting year for you with a move to CA so what a wonderful way to document it all. Happy New Year to you and we love you.
    love Aunt Claire

    • Kathleen says:

      Thank you Aunt Claire. This is going to be a big year for us with so much change I can’t wait to see what other blessings we receive this year. Happy New Year to you! We miss and love you all!

  2. Courtney says:

    Love the details of his hands folding up the paper! Great start!!

  3. Courtney says:

    P.S. Love the banner! Remind me to tell you something :O)

  4. Daily Wyatt says:

    Oh I love shots like those! precious little hands!

  5. Trisha says:

    Love the first shots! Next year we’ll have to go do this. And I see you have a watermark! I am the only one who doesn’t???

  6. Trish says:

    I love the idea of the fortune and the fence. One can go to Time Square in NYC and write fortunes, wishes, or the like on the confetti which is dropped from windows on New Years Eve. The years I have made it into the City, I haven’t had the time to run over to write mine down. Another thing for my “must do” in 2011.

    Glad to met you and will enjoy following along on the 365.

Leave a Reply

